Virus Alert From Microsoft fake alert Removal Guide

Do you know what Virus Alert From Microsoft fake alert is?

The Virus Alert from Microsoft pop-up warning is a fake technical support notification supposedly sent by Microsoft to inform you that some security issue has caused Microsoft to block your computer. The fake alert is known to be displayed by, which is currency shut down. The Virus Alert From Microsoft fake alert should be disregarded because its goal is to convince the victim that it is necessary to call 1-844-808-7462, which is presented as the number of Microsoft technical support hotline. Since the Virus Alert from Microsoft warning is a hoax, it is important that you not dial the phone number, because you are likely to be charged for the call even though the number is presented as toll-free, and, more important, the con artist will attempt to take advantage of you.

The Virus Alert from Microsoft fake alert warns the target PC user not to shut down or restart the computer and provides a list of causes for blocking the computer. According to the fake technical support alert, Microsoft blocks those computer that are used for spreading malware and using pirated software. Moreover, it is stated that Microsoft blocks those computers that have illegal registration keys or that are hacked and used from unidentified locations. The computer is said to be blocked for the sake of the your safety.

If the Virus Alert from Microsoft warning is displayed just because you have accessed a website that is supported by advertising servers, most likely it is enough to navigate away from the web page and continue browsing. Websites that causes visitors to face scam warnings are usually of poor reputations, and they may also contain links to malware distribution websites.

The Virus Alert from Microsoft fake alert could be displayed by adware, too. It is worth checking the browsers for questionable browser add-ons, which may be the culprit.

Scammers create deceptive pop-up notifications to swindle people of their money or make them voluntarily give access to their device. For example, the fraudster behind the Virus Alert from Microsoft may pretend that she has fixed the issue and may ask for payment in exchange to the fake service provided. You might be asked to give your name, last name, credit card number, online banking passwords, and other personal information. Another possible tactic is an attempt to get some malware installed on your computer. For example, the impostor may tell you that some software has to be installed to identify the issue, and you might be asked to navigate to a specific website to download a program, which might compromise, steal, or destroy your data, or download more threats to your device.

Microsoft warns of different types of technical support scam, including pop-up warnings, inbound phone calls, and phishing emails. Microsoft's warnings never include phone numbers; moreover, it never makes phone calls to inform its clients about technical issues. If ever contacted by a supposed technician, do not reveal any personally identifiable information. Hang up the call and warn your family member about the potential risk.

If you find that the Virus Alert from Microsoft fake alert is displayed on your screen more than once, and even when you are not using your browsers, it is worth paying more attention to the security status of your device. Below you fill a removal guide for resetting your browsers, but our team recommends implementing a reliable anti-malware program that would scan the system and identify all harmful files and processes.

Do not hesitate to shield your PC from malware, because there are numerous destructive threats that can inflict considerable damage once they have been installed on the computer.

Kill the Virus Alert from Microsoft fake alert

Internet Explorer

  1. Click the gear in the top right.
  2. Select Reset in the Advanced tab.
  3. Click Reset in the prompt box.
  4. Confirm that you want to reset the browser by clicking the Reset button in another window and then click OK.

Windows Edge

  1. Click the three-dot icon.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click Clear browsing data select Choose what to clear.
  4. Click Show more.
  5. Check all check boxes and click Clear.

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Click the three-line button.
  2. At the button of the drop-down menu, click the question mark and select Troubleshooting Information.
  3. Click the Refresh Firefox button.
  4. Click Refresh Firefox.

Google Chrome

  1. Click the three-dots button.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Scroll down and click Advanced.
  4. Under Reset, click the Reset button.
  5. Click Reset to finish the procedure.

In non-techie terms:

The Virus Alert from Microsoft warning is a technical support scam created to convince a Microsoft consumer that her use of the device is limited by Microsoft because of some violations. The fake warning should be closed, but if it persists because of an adware program running on the PC, the culprit should be removed as soon as possible.