Popup Removal Guide

Do you know what Popup is?

Has your web surfing experience been disrupted by a Popup? Well, this means that your system could be infected with malware, such as adware programs. Of course, it can also mean that you clicked on the wrong third-party content while viewing a suspicious website. In fact, no matter how you may be introduced to such a pop-up, you should know that it is a fake alert. In other words, whatever this pop-up claims or offers is fake and should not be trusted for one second. Unfortunately, accepting the suggestion of this fake alert could lead to infecting your system with malicious browser extensions or hijackers. Our researchers say that you should remove Popup from your system by detecting and eliminating all possibly related and also unrelated application. Keeping your PC clean should be your priority unless you are ready to end up with damaged files or stolen identity one day. Please continue reading our article if you want to find out more about this fake alert and how you can keep your computer safer.

You do not need to look too far when it comes to finding the one to blame for such a fake alert to show up on your screen. In fact, it is you who did something wrong if this could happen. But instead of feeling bad or beating yourself up about this, you should learn how you can avoid such infections. In order to be presented with this fake alert, you need to land on a malicious page. There are two basic ways for you to be redirected to such a page. First, when you are on a suspicious page, such as a torrent, a freeware, a gaming, a gambling, an online dating, or porn page, you can be introduced to unsafe third-party content. If you click on such content, it is a possible consequence that you open a new tab or window and load a malicious page. In this case, it is possible that you do not even need to remove any malware infection from your system because it might be enough for you to close your browser and open a new one to delete Popup.

However, it is also possible that your computer is already infected with malware threats (adware programs, browser hijackers, and potentially unwanted programs) and one of these infections is capable of redirecting you to this malicious page that can show you this fake alert. No wonder why we emphasize the importance of your system being scanned with a proper online malware scanner regularly to see if there is anything to worry about and to take care of. It is quite possible that these aforementioned infections all entered your computer in one package. You can easily infect your system with a bundle that contains all kinds of malware threats and potentially unwanted applications if you happen to click on corrupt third-party ads or if you download free software or updates from suspicious sources (torrent and freeware pages). One click, that is all it takes for you to end up with a bundle on your system. Of course, if you are cautious enough, you may be able to avoid letting the whole content of the package on board. Lots of users ignore, for example, the license agreement, which can reveal what other tools and browser settings will be installed. But you may also be informed by checkbox-assigned notifications, which could be shown only when you choose the custom installation option. If you overlook all these, it may result in multiple system security threats on your system and it will not be enough for you to delete Popup and related applications alone.

This fake alert is all about misleading you to click on the OK button on this pop-up message. This pop-up may come up right before you could load the malicious page where you have been redirected to without your knowledge or when you try to navigate from it or close the tab. This fake alert can be as simple as " says: Add extension to leave." So obviously, in this case, you are forced to add an unknown and questionable browser extension if you want to leave the page. If you cancel this pop-up another one may come up and so on. If you are lucky and simply ended up on this page because you clicked on the wrong link on a questionable search engine's search results page or any link on a shady website, you may be able to eliminate this fake alert simply by closing this tab or the whole browser window as we have already said. If you do not want to let useless and harmful programs into your virtual world, it is important that you remove Popup from your PC. So here is what you should do to make sure that you will not see these annoying fake alerts again.

According to our researchers, manually you can do two things to try to detect and eliminate Popup and all probably related programs. First, you can scan through your installed programs list via Control Panel to see if any of the recently installed programs are suspicious or questionable, and then, you can uninstall them once confirmed. Two, you can reset your browsers in order to clean them of any questionable extensions that could also be blamed for the redirection. Please use our instructions below if you feel that you can perform these steps. Of course, you may want something better, something more effective to fight against such threats and malware infections. Therefore, we also recommend that you employ a trustworthy malware removal program (e.g., SpyHunter) that can safeguard your system from all known malware threats.

How to remove Popup from Windows

Windows XP

  1. Click the Start button and navigate to Control Panel.
  2. Choose Add or Remove Programs.
  3. Select the uninstaller and click Remove.

Windows Vista and Windows 7

  1. Access the Start menu and choose Control Panel.
  2. Click Uninstall a program.
  3. Select the uninstaller and click Uninstall.

Windows 8, Windows 8.1, and Windows 10

  1. Tap Win+X and choose Programs and Features.
  2. Select the uninstaller and click Uninstall.

How to reset your browsers

Google Chrome

  1. Tap Alt+F and go to Settings.
  2. Click Show advanced settings at the bottom.
  3. Press Reset settings at the bottom.
  4. Press Reset.

Internet Explorer

  1. Tap Alt+T and navigate to Internet Options.
  2. On the Advanced tab, press Reset.
  3. Select Delete personal settings and press Reset.
  4. Click Close.

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Tap Alt+H and open Troubleshooting Information.
  2. Press Refresh Firefox and press Refresh Firefox once more in the confirmation window.

In non-techie terms: Popup is a fake alert that can show up in your browsers after you visit questionable websites and click on unsafe third-party content or when your computer is infected with adware. This fake alert offers you to install questionable browser extensions using made-up claims and information in order to mislead or confuse you. If you click OK on such a pop-up, you may infect your system. Therefore, it is not advisable to engage with this fake alert. Instead, you should remove Popup by identifying the application that could be behind this redirection and eliminating it. If your IT skills are not enough for you to be able to do that or to keep your PC clean of such or worse malware infections, we suggest that you install a professional anti-malware program as soon as possible.