Eliminate Facebook Message Removal Guide

Do you know what Eliminate Facebook Message is?

If you receive a strange video link via Facebook Messenger, do not rush to open it because that might be the devious “Eliminate Facebook Message” scam in disguise. The link is represented either in bit.ly or t.cn, and it has a video title attached to it. This title is extremely misleading as it includes your name. Additionally, it attaches a shocked emoji next to the word “Video,” which basically suggests that the link represents a video of you doing something shocking. Without a doubt, many users are likely to click this link, especially if it is sent to them by a friend. This is a reminder that taking security guards down is always dangerous. Even if the link is sent by someone you know, you need to be vigilant and inquisitive. After all, you would lose nothing by asking what is in the video before playing it. If you have already clicked the link, some kind of malware is likely to have been let in. If you discover that you need to delete “Eliminate Facebook Message” scam-related malware, we suggest taking care of the removal ASAP.

At the time of research, the “Eliminate Facebook Message” scam was, of course, spread using Messenger, but we cannot guarantee that the scam will not evolve. If a Facebook account is hijacked, there is always a possibility that the misleading video link could be posted on the victim’s timeline, as well as the timelines of everyone in their contacts. What about the origins of the threat? There are still more questions than answers when it comes to that, and if we have more information, we will update this report. Of course, there is a great possibility that a malicious infection is responsible for hijacking users’ accounts and then using them for the proliferation of the bogus video link. Since identifying and uncovering malicious threats can be extremely difficult, our research team strongly recommends utilizing a legit malware scanner to help you examine your operating system. It is possible that serious threats will not be found at all if you managed to evade unfamiliar installers, but you might discover serious infections. Do not underestimate tracking cookies either. Even if the malware scanner does not identify them as dangerous, we recommend removing them because they could track information about you!

So, what happens if you click the link represented via the “Eliminate Facebook Message” scam? First of all, you should be introduced to a dynamic landing page on Google Docs to introduce you to the alleged video. This “video” might have a play button in the middle, and your own picture taken from your Facebook account could be represented in the background, but if you click the “play” button, no video plays. Instead, you are likely to be asked to download/update the Flash Player. Chrome users could be asked to download an extension. By following these demands, you could be letting in adware and malware, which is why we do not recommend it. If you have interacted with the “Facebook Video/Messenger Virus” – which is another name the scam is known by – you need to make sure that you remove all malicious components and infections immediately.

If you use a legitimate malware scanner, you will know all threats that require removal. Hopefully, you will be able to delete all of them manually, but you do not need to stick with this option. In fact, it is much better if you install an anti-malware tool because it can automatically erase all malicious components at once. Furthermore, it can enable the protection against malware you need if you do not want to keep your operating system vulnerable to the invasion of other infections. Needless to say, we cannot provide you with instructions on how to remove malware that we cannot identify. Of course, once you know the threats you are dealing with, you can post a comment below with any requests. What we can help you with right now is the removal of tracking cookies. Since they are likely to be placed, and they could spy on you, we strongly recommend deleting them.

Removal Instructions

N.B. You have to scan your computer to identify the threats that require removal because that is quite unpredictable. We recommend following this guide to delete the cookies that are placed to spy on you.


  1. Click Safari icon and then move to Preferences.
  2. Click the Privacy tab.
  3. Select Remove All Website Data and then click Remove Now.

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Open the browser, tap Alt to open the menu at the top, and select History.
  2. Click Clear Recent History.
  3. Select the time range, check the boxes, and click Clear Now.

Google Chrome

  1. Open the browser, tap keys Alt+F, and select Setting.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and click Advanced.
  3. In the Privacy and security menu click Clear browsing data.
  4. Select the time range, check the boxes, and click CLEAR BROWSING DATA.

Internet Explorer

  1. Open the browser and tap Ctrl+Shift+Delete.
  2. In the Delete Browsing History menu check the boxes.
  3. Click Delete to clear the undesirable data.

In non-techie terms:

The “Eliminate Facebook Message” scam is truly devious, and, hopefully, you manage to figure things out before you click the bogus video link that activates this scam. If you have clicked the link and, worse, downloaded the software/extensions/updates offered, you might have to do some removing. If you are not sure exactly which threats you need to eliminate, install a trusted malware scanner to help you identify malware. If you are having issues with that, you can also contact us via the comments section. When it comes to the removal, we recommend employing legitimate anti-malware software instead of trying to eliminate malicious components manually, but, of course, you have to decide for yourself. If you cannot find the guides you need on this website, please let us know via the comments section.